Gowanda Free Library
chartered since 1905 

56 West Main Street
Gowanda, NY 14070
tel: 1-716-532-3451
fax: 1-716-532-3415
www.cclslib.org/gowanda
www.myspace.com/gowandafreelibrary




Library cards are free of charge. If you are 18 years or older you need to have a photo ID (such as a driver's license or state ID), and something that proves your current residence such as a recent utility bill or other piece of mail that has been stamped by the Post Office. A parent or guardian will need only their own photo ID and proof of residence to apply for their child's library card.
 THE LIBRARY HAS FREE WI-FI

| HOME | SEARCH CATALOG | OUR SERVICES | DATABASES | RESOURCES AND LINKS |
| CHAUTAUQUA-CATTARAUGUS LIBRARY SYSTEM | ABOUT US |


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Databases with an asterisk (*) are provided by the New York State Library (NOVEL). Log-in requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID.

If you have any questions or need any assistance with the databases please do not hesitate to ask the staff.

TIP: If you are a resident of New York State, you can get a a New York Public Library card free, online, from their website. As a member of their library you can access any of the databases they are subscribed to that allow remote access.

Audiobooks


Overdrive
(requires a library card from an automated library)
Download titles to computer and transfer to a portable device. There is an MP3 player at the circulation desk for this purpose, ask the staff for details.

Business

Business and Company ASAP*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
1980-current; research companies and industries via periodicals.

Business and Company Resource Center*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Company histories, products and financials.

Children

Animals, EBSCO*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
In-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals; some photos.

Funk and Wagnalls Encyclopedia*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
25,000+ encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Junior Edition, Infotrac*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Grades 5-12; magazines, newspapers, dictionaries, maps & more.

Kids' Search*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Grades K-8; combines Primary Search, TOPICsearch and Science Reference Center databases.

Primary Search*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Grades K-8; includes: Funk and Wagnalls, Animals, lexile levels, magazines, photos, maps, flags and more.

Searchasaurus*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Grades K-8; access Primary Search via this dinosaur animated search interface.

TOPICsearch*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Grades 5-12; currents events; 1,622+ sources (newspapers, magazines, biographies, opinion polls and more).

Health

Health and Wellness Resource Center*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Easy to use interface; journals, newsletters, pamphlets and more.

Health Reference Center Academic*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
1980-current; 1,124+ health related journals; scholarly.

Literature

Twayne's Author Series*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Literary criticisms, reader's advisement, in-depth intro to the works and lives of writers.

Magazine and Journal Articles

MasterFILE Select, EBSCO*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
1984-current; general interest; 700+ titles; includes Consumer Reports; fulltext included.

ProQuest
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
1971-current; general interest; 7,500+ titles; includes the New York Times; fulltext included.

Newspapers

Custom Newspapers*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
1996-current; 900+ titles; national and international; includes Buffalo News, 1996-current; fulltext.

National Newspaper Index*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
1977-current; top five U.S. Newspapers; includes NY Times and Wall Street Journal; no fulltext.

New York State Papers*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
1986-current; 28 major NYS newspapers; includes Buffalo News, 1996-current; fulltext.

Phonebooks

ReferenceUSA
(requires a library card from an automated library or check with your library for a RefUSA Remote Access Card)
U.S. and Canada yellow and white pages; includes phone # and search field.

Reference

Credo Reference
(requires a library card from an automated library or check with library for UserID and password)
Authoritative answers from the content of 345 reference books on a broad range of subjects.

Gale Virtual Reference Library*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Covers health, science, literature, history and business.

Science

General Science Collection*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
1992-current; 60+ popular science titles; fulltext.

Science Reference Center*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
640+ titles; science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and more.

Spanish

Informe*
(requires a library card from an automated library or a NYS Driver's License or Non-Driver's ID)
Revistas traducido; incluidas las empresas, la salud, la tecnologia, la cultura y mas.

Questions, concerns, comments?
Call the library during open hours, or send us an email!

website last updated: 6/19/09