Delevan-Yorkshire Public Library
28 School Street
PO Box 185
Delevan, NY 14202

Phone: 716-492-1961
Fax: 716-492-3398

2010 Summer Readers' Book Reviews

Home Page   Events at the Library    Informational Websites   KS Society Tea  Library History
Photo Albums  Scholastic Book Fair  Services    Summer Reading Program    SRP Book Reviews    Virtual Tour    What's New?     Just for Laughs

In 2010 we are again offering our Summer Reading Program participants the opportunity to earn tickets for a drawing for a gift bag. Every time they complete a book review form for their age-group, they receive another ticket for a chance to win the drawing.
Below are the reviews we received, arranged alphabetically by title.

Cover

Reviewer: J. B.
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: YA Fiction

Title: The Amber Spyglass  Author: Philip Pullman    ISBN: 0440418569

Synopsis: Almost a continuation of The Subtle Knife, the same two kids on another adventure this time they find the amber spyglass and use it to win against their struggles.
Review: Very much the same storyline as the other two books in the series, but still a very good read.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- this book continues a very exciting, suspenseful and fun series and puts a nice end to some tough struggles.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: J. B.
Date: July 27, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: The Angel Experiment  Author: James Patterson    ISBN: 9780316067959

Synopsis: A group of kids with wings that were created in a lab experimentally have to fight another experiment to survive and escape the clutches of the people who created them.
Review: This book is a very enjoyable book and I can't wait to read the rest of the series.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4.56
Would I recommend this book? Yes- it is very impacting, and full of excitement and thrill.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Laurel Serafin
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Adult Fiction

Title: Anna's Return   Author: Marta Perry    ISBN: 9781602858015

Synopsis: This was the third book in an Amish series. Anna, who left her family in book one returns to Pennsylvania and her family. She now has a baby girl, whom she adopted from a friend dying of cancer. The conflict occurs when the child's drug addicted father decides to try to kidnap the baby even though he signed his rights over. How the Amish solve the problem tells Anna where her peace is.
Review: Very nice, mild book. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It had an excellent story line with plenty of suspense.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: B. M.
Date: July 14, 2010
Category: Non-Fiction

Title: Arachnid Attack!        Author: Teresa Domnauer    ISBN: 0769665500

Synopsis:  This book is about spiders and what they do.
Three things that most interested me about this book: 1) A Black Widow spider bite can make a person very sick. 2) A female Black Widow lays anywhere from 100 to 500 eggs at a time. 3) A jumping spider sneaks up on its prey.
I would recommend this book:
If you like spiders you will like this book.
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 4

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Z. B.
Date: July 29, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Arthur and the Crunch Cereal Contest         Author: Marc Brown    ISBN: 0316115525

Synopsis: Arthur entered a cereal eating contest. Arthur won and his friends were mad at him.
Three things that most interested me about this book: 1) Arthur winning. 2) Buster losing. 3) Binkey playing nice.
This picture book has eye-catching pictures and they follow the story: No
I would recommend this book:
Yes
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 4

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Julia Sanders
Date: July 21, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Arthur's Homework        Author: Marc Brown    ISBN: 0316733873

Synopsis: Arthur had homework. He helped his friends. He forgot his homework.
Three things that most interested me about this book: 1) Helping his friends. 2) Didn't do his homework. 3) Arthur cared about his friends.
This picture book has eye-catching pictures and they follow the story: Yes because it's following the book.
I would recommend this book:
Yes because it's interesting.
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 3

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Erika Sanders
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Because of Winn Dixie      Author: Kate Dicamillo     ISBN: 0763607762

Synopsis: India Opal Buloni finds a dog and a strong bond forms between them. Winn Dixie (dog) "runs away" during a storm and India is crushed. Her and her dad look everywhere for him and finally find him at Georgia Dump's house.
Three adjectives that describe this book:
1) Entertaining 2) Affection 3) Trust/Bond
Review: This book was very well written. Everything flowed smooth and the subject was very intriguing.
I especially enjoyed this book because:
That India finally finds Winn Dixie.

Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It is a very entertaining book that has its ups and downs which makes it a great book.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Beloved Enemy

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Beloved Enemy   Author: Jane Feather     ISBN: 0821779877

Synopsis: A girl was taken from her home by soldiers, and made a 'ward' because her parents and husband were dead. Ginny traveled with Alex and his troop to many places, took care of the sick and wounds, and met Alex's sister. They shared a love that could not be broken by their differences, but one day when the men had to fight Ginny would tend to the wounded and watch for Alex to return, the first night he did, and the next as well. But on the third day of battle, Ginny and another soldier found Alex's horse without a rider. When they found him he was badly wounded. Ginny gave instructions to get him off the field so she could help him, but she heard a voice that was familiar, her husband, he had not died, but was wounded in the war she was told he died in. She nursed her husband back to health and took care of Alex, but her husband claimed rights. So she left the rest of the care of Alex with a friend and left. Ginny and her husband went back to his home, from there they went to a cousin's in Virginia. Most of the time Ginny's husband would be drunk, but he was mean, always calling her a whore, and he beat her also. But one day Alex arrived and they would sneak off to be together. They came up with a plan to leave, but things went wrong. Ginny and her husband got into a fight and while defending herself she killed her husband, she went to Alex for help. Years later Ginny and Alex have a set of twin boys and live in the home Alex had taken Ginny away from in the beginning.
Review: It was good, exciting. Different in the way it tells about the cat and mouse "game" of fighting a war and helping people escape.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- it was exciting and yet sad in some moments. It kept my interest.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Black Tuesday

Reviewer: Lynette Owens
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Black Tuesday    Author: Susan Colebank

Synopsis: Jayne Thompkins is the all-American teenager when her life changes with a horrible accident. She goes through many enduring trials to find a second chance.
The book's weakness: The 3rd person point of view was more 1st person and yet 3rd person omniscient at the same time.
The book's strengths: It showed real-life consequences to a real-life situation.
A passage that impressed me was: When Jayne's sister, Ellie, goes into diabetic shock.
The reason that it impressed me was: Because Jayne and Ellie are sisters, they argue a lot. When tragedy strikes for them, they stick together and this scene shows that.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- because it makes you think before acting.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Sharon Brown
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Blockade Billy     Author: Stephen King      ISBN: 9781587672286

Synopsis: It is a story about baseball and its players.
Review: This is a great inside view of what may happen in the world of baseball, and what could happen to its players. A nice reading material for the sports person.
Overall rating of this book
(scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? Yes- I found the book rather enjoyable.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: J. K. G.
Date: July 14, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Blue Eyed Devil  Author: Robert B. Parker  ISBN: 9780399156489

Synopsis: A man tries to take over a town to make it his town by placing himself as Chief of Police with several deputies. But he charges fees to protect the businessmen. Virgil Cole and his friend, who tells the story, plus friends and an enemy put him out of business and kills him.
Review: This book was an interesting story but I'm not crazy about being told in 3rd person. Chapters were short and a fast read but very choppy. Regular one line paragraphs.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? Maybe- If they like 3rd person stories and a fast read its great.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Kaitlyn Fisher
Date: July 22, 2010

Category:
DVD

Title: The Book of Eli

Synopsis: A man named Eli is trying to take a special book out west, that is the only book of that kind left. Someone told him that this needed to be done by him and he has walked for 30 years doing this. This is all after a nuclear war and few things are left. He was told that he would be protected throughout his journey, and he is. At the end of the movie there is a surprise which I won't spoil for you, go watch it yourself.
Review: The movie is very good, it was a little slow to begin with, but the storyline is excellent! It is a Christian movie which was great, but there is some swearing.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes-
If you like good endings and even better storylines then you will love it! Just don't turn it off for the first half hour because like I said it was a slow start, but it is good.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Brianna, My Brother, and the Blog

Reviewer: Lynette Owens
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Brianna, My Brother, and the Blog     Author: Jack Weyland

Synopsis: Austin returns home from a 2-year mission and meets Brianna, his younger brother's girlfriend. He starts writing a blog about things he learns from Brianna. They fall for each other and end up together.
The book's weakness: The book was NOT long enough! I wish as readers we could know more about Austin and Brianna's married life!
The book's strengths: It always kept you interested. It make you feel like Austin and Brianna were real.
A passage that impressed me was: When Robbie came home.
The reason that it impressed me was: Robbie is Austin's younger brother and Brianna's boyfriend. When he comes home from his mission he treats people with little respect. This is how the first encounter with someone you haven't seen in a while can be.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- because it shows real life and helps us know what people want in a spouse.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Catherine and the Pirate

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Romance

Title: Catherine and the Pirate    Author: Karen Hawkins

Synopsis: Catherine's parents die, and then her brother is kidnapped and held for ransom. She decides to rescue him with the help of a guy named Derrick who she ends up falling in love with.
Review: This is like a perfect romance for teens and young adults.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? Yes- it is a decent book.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: J. B.
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Chasing Orion    Author: Kathryn Lasky     ISBN: 9780763639822

Synopsis: A young girl with polio goes to find a cure by following or chasing the star cluster known as Orion.
Review: A wondrous adventure of someone who wants to find answers.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- it is an inspirational piece of knowledge.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Kimberly M. Mann
Date: July 14, 2010
Category: Self-help

Title: Chicken Soup for the Woman's Soul   Author: Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen, Jennifer  Read Hawthorne, and Marci Shimoff
ISBN: 1558744290

Synopsis: People telling about their experiences and meetings with kind and generous people who helped them out one way or another.
Review: I think this book is very helpful for people who need guidance in their lives.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- People need help in one way or another.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

(no image available)

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Cobra

Synopsis: Cobra is a cop that handles cases that no one else will. For a week a killer has been on the loose and they bring Cobra on to help stop him. The killer went after a woman, but she got away and now Cobra is there to protect her. In the end there are gun fights, houses going up in flames, and Cobra goes hand to hand with the killer.
Review: It was good. A lot of action.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- it was good, a lot of good fight scenes, good movie.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: J. S.
Date: July 26, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Curious George      Author: H. A. Rey    ISBN: 0395159938

Synopsis:  George was in the jungle. He got taken. He played a trick and got taken to jail. He escaped and his friend took him home.
Three things that most interested me about this book: 1) George escaped from jail. 2) He flew in the air on balloons. 3) He walked on the phone wire.
This picture book has eye-catching pictures and they follow the story: Yes
I would recommend this book:
Yes
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 5

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: T. K.
Date: July 26, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Dark Day in the Deep Sea   Author: Mary Pope Osborne     ISBN: 9780375837319

Synopsis: In the beginning they met a person named Grean. In the middle they went on his ship. In the end of this story Jack and Annie were suffocating by an octopus.
Three things that most interested me about this book: 1) The octopus. 2) When the tree house spins. 3) What they ate on the ship.
This picture book has eye-catching pictures and they follow the story: Yes- because they put a picture at the good part.
I would recommend this book:
Yes- because it's just good.
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 5

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Laurel Serafin
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: A Darkness More Than Night    Author: Michael Connelly    ISBN: 0316154075

Synopsis: Harry Bosch, a detective, is set up for a murder where the killer has his same name. Even his old co-worker, Terry, thinks he did it and Terry comes out of retirement to find the answers. It finally ends with both men's lives being in mortal danger. It turns out that a current court case is intricately weaved in the whole drama.
Review: This was my first Connelly book, and I will read more. It was a little hard to follow at first because I was unfamiliar with the characters, who had been in previous books, but I eventually caught on and got my bearings.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It was very suspenseful and gave a lot of insight into the character's acting.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

(no image available)

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Mystery

Title: Death Warmed Up     Author: Marian Babson      ISBN: 0802754791

Synopsis: A catering business owner must solve a food poisoning  mystery and a murder to save her business from going under.
Review: This was a fun mystery to read.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Demolition Man

Synopsis: A bad guy, Simon Phoenix, plays games with a cop, and when the cop finally catches him finds out that the building that was destroyed had people in it. The cop knew that Simon had killed them, but the cop got blamed for it, they both got put in cryo. In the year 2032 Simon was let out and to stop him they brought the one man who could do it, they call him the Demolition Man, the cop in cryo. They tear up the city, and with the help of other cops they get Simon, and put him down for good.
Review: Very good full of action, funny, Snipe's in one of his best.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- its funny, good action, very entertaining.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: John Sanders
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Diary of a Wimpy Kid      Author: Jeff Kinney     ISBN: 9780810994737

Synopsis: Greg started school and in the middle it was Halloween. Greg was happy. It started snowing in the end.
Three things that most interested me about this book: 1) Built a huge snowman. 2) Got beat up. 3) He pretended to work out.
This picture book has eye-catching pictures and they follow the story: No- the pictures are black and white.
I would recommend this book:
Yes- it's funny.
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 5

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Christian Fiction

Title: Doesn't She Look Natural  Author: Angela Hunt  ISBN: 9781414326054

Synopsis: Jennifer Graham inherits a funeral home in Florida after a divorce form her husband. Jennifer and her two young sons learn to enjoy life through their experiences with death.
Review: I love this book. It lightheartedly shows death as a natural part of life. Death is revealed as the start of eternity and not the end.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- This book is encouraging and fun to read!

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Jeree K. Gamble
Date: July 29, 2010
Category: Western Fiction

Title: The Dude Ranger   Author: Zane Grey   ISBN: 0671468359

Synopsis: The owner of a ranch in the 1800's old west died leaving the ranch to his heir- a young smart man from Iowa. He comes into town to be hired on as a ranch hand to learn how it is run before he tells all who he really is- the new owner of Red Rock. He finds out the man who has been running the ranch has been stealing cattle and running the ranch down. The new young owner marries the daughter who was much surprised she had not married just a cowhand but the new owner and she was now also the owner of the ranch and didn't have to leave.
Review: Great book- holds your interest from the beginning. Well written and is no wonder Mr. Grey was known as a great writer.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- Great book. If you are interested in reading westerns that is.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: S. M. B.
Date: July 14, 2010

Category:
Fiction

Title: The Eagle and the Dove  Author: Jane Feather  ISBN: 0380761688

Synopsis: A girl runs away from her family (people) and is taken by a Moorish soldier. She tries to escape from him but fails. They fall in love, and she tries to help him but becomes captured and is sold back to the soldier. They make plans to leave to a different place, a place that was his mothers.
Review: I thought it was good. It gave more insight to different cultures and how they live, and how everyone has a different purpose.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It's funny yet you learn more about how different people live. Very interesting.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

(no image available)

Reviewer: D. S.
Date: July 26, 2010

Category:
Mystery

Title: The Elusive Heiress  Author: Carolyn Keene  ISBN: 0671624784

Synopsis: After forty years of his daughter being missing, Ado Winthrop, finally decides to find her. Nancy Drew takes the case while being chased by men. A family reunion ends the mystery.
Three adjectives that describe this book:
1) Amazing 2) Interesting 3) Enjoyable
Review: The text flows well, the way it flows helps hold my attention. The characters and subjects are very interesting, in how they all end up as a piece of the puzzle.
I especially enjoyed this book because:
The constant adventures, that constantly held my attention.

Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It's amazing and intriguing.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Kaitlyn Fisher
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Fahrenheit 451

Synopsis: Based on the book by Ray Bradbury, this movie is about a man named Montag who is a "fireman" in his time. The firemen create fires instead of putting them out and these fires are to burn books. No one is allowed to read. Montag meets a lady who questions things and it makes him question things also.
Review: This movie is not as good as the book. It does not give as many details as the book.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 2
Would I recommend this movie? No- I would recommend reading the book, it is much better!

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Flicka

Reviewer: Sharon M. Brown
Date: July 14, 2010

Category:
DVD

Title: Flicka

Synopsis: A young girl comes home from school to her horse ranch, finds a wild mustang and falls in love with her. She wants to keep her and train her but her father wont let her. The girl trains her anyway and her father sends the horse to the rodeo. The girl comes up with a plan to get her horse back, but in the process of saving her horse the horse gets attacked by a mountain lion. The girl gets very sick and the horse is severely injured. The girl gets better, and her parents saved the mustang. In the end the girls father lets her keep the mustang they name Flicka.
Review: I love this movie. It's funny and sad but it's one of the best I have seen.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- It's an awesome movie.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Flicka 2

Reviewer: Sharon M. Brown
Date: July 14, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Flicka 2   

Synopsis: A young girl is forced to live with her father after her grandmother gets sick. There she meets Flicka, a mustang. She becomes friends with Flicka, and a local boy. But a jealous girl puts Flicka in harms way. With the help of her father and the boy she sets Flicka free.
Review: Just like the first movie, it's funny and sad but I love it. If you liked the first one you'll love the second one.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- It's just as good as the first movie.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

A Fool for Murder: A Mystery

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Mystery

Title: A Fool for Murder     Author: Marian Babson      ISBN: 0802755712

Synopsis: A wealthy, elderly man seeks to protect his estate by marrying a much younger woman. His former fiancι ends up murdered leaving behind her young daughter.
Review: The characters in this book are well-developed and the reader easily relates to them.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- A well-written mystery!

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Diane Battaglia
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: The Friday Night Knitting Club     Author: Kate Jacobs       ISBN: 0399154094

Synopsis: A young single mother runs a knit shop in Manhattan. A group of women begin meeting Friday evenings to work on knitting projects. The women become friends and a support to each other.
Review: I am not a knitter, but I enjoyed the characters and their struggles in the book. It was interesting how the author connected knitting basics with living life. You become involved in the characters lives and the twists and turns of the plot.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It was and enjoyable and interesting read. I plan to read the sequel to find out what happens to the women!

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Christian Fiction

Title: A Fruitful Vine  Author: Carrie Bender

Synopsis: A series of books written in journal form describing the life of a "middle-aged" Amish woman. Her mother has just died and has left Miriam alone in the world. This story describes how she finds herself in the midst of an Amish family.
Review: This was an easy-going, comfortable book to read. As a reader, I found myself rooting for Miriam and wanting things to work out for her.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- The story line is enjoyable, sometimes it is slow going though.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra

Synopsis: The Joe's are the best in the military divisions, all the different groups (Navy, Army) put together to be the last resort, where they fail the Joe's don't. A scientist has made something that could make the perfect soldier and destroy cities. The Joe's have to keep them from using it on the different major cities. They capture the bad guys and stop them from destroying the cities.
Review: Very good. Good action. I liked it.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- It was good, had a lot of action.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

The Golden Compass: Official Illustrated Movie Companion

Reviewer: J. B.
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: YA Fiction

Title: The Golden Compass     Author: Philip Pullman      ISBN: 9780440418320

Synopsis: A girl in college gets caught in the scheme of her uncle. She has to struggle to win as she hurtles towards trouble. She does not know that with the help of armored polar bears and her demon friend she is destined to win.
Review: Courageous and suspenseful, very enjoyable.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- it is full of excitement as this college student becomes a hero.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Reviewer: Erika Sanders
Date: July 21, 2010
Category: Movie

Title: High School Musical 3

Synopsis: Gabriella is offered a spot in Stanford College. Towards the middle, she decides it's best to go but doesn't want to leave Troy behind. She finally goes. After leaving, she comes back and they all graduate together. Troy goes to a college near her.
Three adjectives that describe this movie: 1)Exciting  2)Touching 3)Enjoyable
Describing the
movie: Everything was phenomenal, and it seemed like it was really happening; it wasn't just a movie.
I especially enjoyed this movie because:
I enjoyed the ending the best!!
Would I recommend this movie?
Yes- It's a movie about life!
My Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 5

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

It Happened In Yellowstone

Reviewer: J. G.
Date: July 21, 2010
Category: Non-Fiction

Title: It Happened in Yellowstone  Author: Erin H. Turner

Synopsis: Short stories of legends and truths that mostly have not been written about.
Review: It Happened in Yellowstone is a book of short stories of things that are mostly unknown. It starts with pre-national park with stories of the old trappers that discovered Yellowstone. The Indian tribes that lived there prior to white men discovering it. Travel and tourists in the early years of Yellowstone and then the re-introduction of the Buffalo and most currently the wolf.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- Especially if you are planning a trip or just want to know what you are missing.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Diane Battaglia
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Knit Two     Author: Kate Jacobs      ISBN: 9780399155833

Synopsis: The book is the sequel to The Friday Night Knitting Club. It continues the stories of the characters from the first book. They move out of the knitting shop and into the world.
Review: I enjoyed Knit Two because it told me more about the characters from book 1, but the author gets away from the knitting club and jumps from character to character so much that I lost connection with them. Definitely should read book 1 first.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? Yes- If you've read The Friday Night Knitting Club you will enjoy Knit Two.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Legally Blonde

Synopsis: Elle Woods is head of a sorority and has the best man on campus, when she thinks Warner is going to propose he dumps her to go to Harvard law school. But to get him back she fallows him to law school, meets Warner's new girl, finds a new friend, and tries to make it through. Elle and Emmett win the court case. Elle gets rid of Warner, becomes friends with Warner's girlfriend, and dates Emmett, and finishes law school.
Review: I liked it, it was funny, very good.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- very, very, very funny! I loved it.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Legally Blonde 2: Red, White, and Blonde

Synopsis: Elle and Emmett plan their wedding, when Elle tries to find Bruiser's mom. When Elle finds his mom, she discovers that she is being used for testing. Elle heads to D.C. to fight for Bruiser's mom. Elle meets new friends, and fights for animal rights. She wins her case, gets married, and gets Bruiser's mom released.
Review: I liked it, it was better then I thought it would be.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- it was funny, very funny.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: J. B.
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: YA Fiction

Title: Marked      Author: P. C. Cast       ISBN: 97803123609

Synopsis: A girl was bitten by a Tracker Vampire and has to become one herself and is known a s a freak by her peers and has to go to vampire school and she has to live in the house of night.
Review: There is no real start to it, but it draws you in and is a well written book full of strange, but fun characters. If I had more than two thumbs I would give it more.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3.5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It pulls you in to a new world of vampires and freaks and is very suspenseful.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Autumn Fisher
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: YA Fiction

Title: Marked      Author: P. C. Cast       ISBN: 97803123609

Synopsis: Zoey Bedbird has been marked as a vampire, she goes to the House of Night to learn about it. She has powers. She tries to fix the situations there.
The book's weakness: It's a little heavy on the description of things that could be left undescribed.
The book's strengths: It keeps the reader captivated.
A passage that impressed me was: "I swallowed hard "Mama" I used the name I use to call her back in the days before she married John." "I need your help."
The reason that it impressed me was: because it shows a daughters need for her mother.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- it is a new take on vampires, very unique.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

(no image available)

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Mystery

Title: Marked for Mercy  Author: Alton Gansky

Synopsis: Two doctors who trained together take opposing stands on a controversial issue.
Review: This book causes the reader to consider their own view on the issue.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- A good read that causes the reader to maybe rethink some of their ideas. Maybe not change their opinion, but think more deeply about it.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: J. B.
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: YA Fiction

Title: Maximum Ride 2     Author: James Patterson      ISBN: 9780316098236

Synopsis: In continuation from the first book Max and some of the others get captured by the place that they escaped from before. Max realizes that now not only does she have to save herself, and her friends (family), she has to save the world also.
Review: This book is the continuation of a great story. The plot just screams fun. I should be read by those who love dramatics and have already read the first one.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4.5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It is just as dramatic, exciting, and filled with fear as the first.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Lynette Owens
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Michelle and Debra      Author: Jack Weyland

Synopsis: Michelle and Debra are best friends. While Debra is out partying, Michelle is learning how to be a good wife and friend. After college, right before Michelle's wedding, she and Debra meet up again and rekindle their friendship.
The book's weakness: Some parts of the book could have been less foul, but other than that- excellent read.
The book's strengths: It showed different points of view, but it all connected in the end.
A passage that impressed me was: The time when Michelle talks to her mom about dating.
The reason that it impressed me was: I could really relate to Michelle at this time in the book. It was comforting to feel like I was not the only one who felt that way.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- because it has good morals. A great learning adventure.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: A. M.
Date: July 29, 2010
Category: YA Fiction

Title: Midnight for Charlie Bone      Author: Jenny Nimmo       ISBN: 0439474299

Synopsis: Young boy named Charlie finds out that he has a special ability which enables him to hear the thoughts of people in photographs. Once his aunts find out they send him to a special school for "gifted" children. Charlie helps to uncover the truth about a classmates identity and bring her home to her aunt. Some of his classmates try to stop him from finding the truth but Charlie prevails. This is the first book in a series.
Review: This book reminded me of Harry Potter, but I don't think the characters are developed as well, and the story lacks surprises. I think it had too many similarities from Harry Potter, and I think the author should of made it her own.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? No- I would not recommend this book. I would tell a friend to read Harry Potter, it is much better.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Kaitlyn Fisher
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Monster House

Synopsis: A boy and his friend find out that the house across the street is a monster. The house is trying to eat the kids because they would throw rocks at it and, of course, it did not like that. At the end they are finally able to destroy the house and they find out that it is actually the spirit of a woman.
Review: The movie was good and kinda funny. I liked it.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- It is a good movie and entertaining. It is more of a kids movie.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: A. M.
Date: July 14, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: My Little Pony: A Secret Gift        Author: Ruth Benjamin     ISBN: 0060794747

Synopsis: Butterscotch made a scrapbook for a birthday gift for a friend, Daisy Jo. Daisy Jo was surprised and loved her gift and friends.
Three things that most interested me about this book: 1) How Butterscotch made the scrapbook. 2) The illustrations. 3) The pictures the ponies made for the scrapbook.
This picture book has eye-catching pictures and they follow the story: Yes
I would recommend this book:
Yes
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 5

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

(no image available)

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Video

Title: The Net

Synopsis: A woman who works with computers, fixing problems in computer programs, is taken advantage of and then almost killed for a program that she was working on, her identity is switched with someone else, hunted, and her friends killed. Finally she gets the upper hand and gets her life back.
Review: It was awesome. I haven't seen this movie in years, just as good as I remember. Very good.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- It was awesome, action packed. Very good.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

(no image available)

Reviewer: T. B.
Date: July 14, 2010

Category:
Graphic Novel

Title: Onimusha - Night of Genesis     Author: Mitsuru Ohsaki

Synopsis: Jubel-Akane Yagayu fights Hideyasu Yuki (Soki). Hideyasu Yuki (Soki) "cut down" Skeletonmen. Jubel-Akane Yagayu killed Munenori.
Three adjectives that describe this book: 1)Scary  2)Surprising 3)Funny
Describing the text
: It flows well. It held my attention. The characters and subjects were interesting.
I especially enjoyed this book because:
The sword play was good.
Would I recommend this book?
Yes- because its from Japan.
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 4

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

(no image available)

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Over the Top

Synopsis: Lincoln Hawk drives a big-rig, and left his family. Hawk's wife sent him to pick up his son and bring him home. Hawk's wife wants Lincoln and his son, Mike, to get along, and get to know each other. Hawk gets Mike, picks up a new load to deliver, and sets out back home. Mike's grandfather tries to get Mike away from Lincoln. Hawk gets sent to jail, and Mike decides to stay with his grandfather. Hawk leaves for and arm wrestling championship. Mike finds some letters that Hawk had written to him, and leaves his grandfathers house to go after his father. Mike finds his father, Hawk, at the championship, while cheering on his dad, Hawk wins his matches, and he gets to the finals. Hawk wins, gets the new truck, the trophy and the money and Mike says he wants to stay with his dad. So Mike and Lincoln start a new life together.
Review: I loved it! I could watch it over and over. One of his best movies!
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- It is awesome! Full of action. Really good.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Christian Fiction

Title: Penny Whistle     Author: B. J. Hoff     ISBN: 0786210125

Synopsis: A poor mining town in the 1890's deals with poverty and heartbreak. A young girl restores hope in the community through her unselfishness.
Review: An inspirational read. It caused me to think about giving  and caring more - even if it means to sacrifice as Maggie does in the story.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- The story takes us out of our own little world and enables us to consider others.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Disney's The Princess and the Frog: Kiss the Frog (Step into Reading, Step 2)

Reviewer: Kaitlyn Fisher
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: The Princess and the Frog

Synopsis: A young woman is in need of money for a restaurant that she wants to open and this talking frog comes along and offers to give her this money if she kisses him and breaks the spell. She eventually does and gets turned into a frog herself. They both go on an adventure trying to get someone to help them turn back into humans. They fall in love with each other at the end and they both feel that it doesn't matter what they look like as long as they are together.
Review: This movie was very funny and entertaining! I love the characters in this movie!
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- It is very cute! Especially if you like princess stories!

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Jackie Cornwall
Date: July 29, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Remembering Blue  Author: Connie May Fowler  ISBN: 0345439244

Synopsis: Set on the island of Lethe on the Gulf Coast of Florida, it is the love story of Mattie O'Rouke and Nick Blue.
Review: This is my second time reading this novel and it is the perfect summer read. Connie May Fowler's writing is so wonderfully descriptive that she transports you to this remote island- you can visualize the ocean and feel the humidity of this place all the while she is letting you inside the lives of those who live there. Nick Blue is a fourth generation shrimp fisherman and Mattie is a woman who, until meeting Nick, never had anything good in her life. You become a part of this family and rejoice in their love for one another and mourn it's losses.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- Because it is so well written- it is a story that stays with you long past the day you read the last sentence.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Rendition

Synopsis: A man coming home to his pregnant wife and son, is taken from the airport to another country where he is tortured for information about a bombing that he knows nothing about. Because he is born Egyptian, the U.S. government think he is involved. While his wife tries to find out what happened to him, if he is okay, where he is, if he is coming home. The American overlooking the torture gets the man released and sent home to his family.
Review: I was very surprised about some of the things shown in the movie. I liked the movie. It was very interesting.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this movie?  Yes- It was interesting, the differences, but some similarities. It was exciting.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Robbers' Roost (Grey, Zane, Zane Grey's New Western Series.)

Reviewer: Jeree Gamble
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Robbers Roost     Author: Zane Grey      ISBN: 1574900579

Synopsis: A western by the famous author Zane Grey. An Englishman comes to own a ranch in the wilds of Utah. Surrounded by robbers and rustlers, the Englishman willingly hires bad guys to protect his ranch as ranch help. They turn against him- kidnap his sister and take her for ransom or worse. There was one bad guy who has a good side- he takes things in his own way.
Review: I had a hard time getting into this due to the amount of characters introduced  so quickly. It was hard to keep track of all of them. But I'm glad I stuck with it. It was a great story.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- If you like westerns you  have to read Zane Grey.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Anonymous
Date: July 19, 2010

Category:
Fiction

Title: Robinson Cruesoe        Author: Daniel Defoe    ISBN: 0877549486

Synopsis: The book is about a man named Robinson Cruesoe who goes out on the sea and gets shipwrecked on a lone island and makes a home while waiting for a ship to carry him off the island, and he fights cannonballs, and is rescued.
Three things that most interested me about this book: 1) How Cruesoe was able to survive. 2) How he rescued people from the cannonballs. 3) How he was able to tame wild animals.
This picture book has eye-catching pictures and they follow the story: Yes- because they are black and white unlike other books.
I would recommend this book:
Yes- because it is very exciting!
My Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=disliked it to 5=really liked it): 5

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

The Saint

Reviewer: S. M. B.
Date: July 14, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: The Saint

Synopsis: Simon Templar is a thief, that for the right price will steal anything. This time he seals a chemical formula from a scientist. Using Christian Saints names and using disguises he moves from place to place. While saving the world, he finds love and escape home.
Review: I love the movie. I think it is one of Val Kilmer's best movies. It's funny, thrilling, and filled with action. Very entertaining.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this movie? Yes- Very entertaining- one of his Best.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Christian Fiction

Title: She Always Wore Red  Author: Angela Hunt  ISBN: 9781414311708

Synopsis: The second in a series. Jennifer is getting used to running a funeral home. She is reunited with a half sister she didn't know she had. They become close, but differing views on important issues threaten to destroy their newfound relationship.
Review: I loved this book as much as the first. Jennifer is a loveable character and as a reader you feel as though you grow right along with her. I can't wait to read the third and final book in this series.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- An enjoyable read!

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Wendy Crooks
Date: July 29, 2010
Category: Non-Fiction

Title: Singer Quilt Projects by Machine   Author: Singer Reference Library    ISBN: 0865732787

Synopsis: A how to book on piecing and quilting by machine. Including basic fabric and batting information, to tools, parts of the quilt, and building the quilt. Finishing with projects.
Review: This was a great book for someone with basic sewing skills who would like to try some quilting. The directions and info are easy to understand with wonderful pictures given, that really makes sense. Includes several examples of different kinds of blocks appliquι to simple landscape quilts. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to start their first quilt and it also has tips for a more experienced sewer who may not be familiar with all the "new" tools available. The color selections in the book are dated from the 90's, but you may easily substitute "new" colors.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- great book for someone who has done sewing projects in the past, who would like to start sewing again. Could make one of the projects in the book easily.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

The Sisterhood

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 5, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: The Sisterhood     Author: Emily Barr

Synopsis: The one girl, Helen, discovers she has a sister she didn't know about and sets out to find her and discovers Elizabeth who was devastated, her long time boyfriend dumped her and she had a one night stand and then found out she was pregnant.
Review: Kinda boring with a creepy ending.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 2
Would I recommend this book? Yes- too boring.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: J. K. G.
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Non-Fiction

Title: Soiled Doves - Prostitution In the Early West  Author: Anne Seagraves

Synopsis: The stories and ways of life of Prostitution in the early West. The hardships were many. The many sides to some.
Review: The "Soiled Doves" were not always the lower class of humanity. Many things led them to this lifestyle. Many were great humanitarians and in the time of crisis, such as the smallpox epidemic, the madams would open their houses of ill repute to use as a hospital and the prostitutes took care of the ill. Many were born into prostitution and some followed in their mothers footsteps. While others came to America and could not find it easy and resorted to this as a last resort.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4.5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- One of the reasons I recommend this book is to teach all of us to do some sole searching of those we judge and how we treat others.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Sheela Burdick
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Romance

Title: Stargirl      Author: Jerry Spinelli      ISBN: 0679886370

Synopsis: A mysterious young girl moves to Arizona and turns the high school upside down.
Review: This book really gets you thinking.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- because I like it.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: James Burdick
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: YA Fiction

Title: The Subtle Knife     Author: Phillip Pullman     ISBN: 0965668355

Synopsis: A continuation of The Golden Compass that takes place in our world. Taro children use cats to win their struggles.
Review: It is as exciting and suspenseful as The Golden Compass.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It almost completes The Golden Compass with its intuitive nature.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: Rebecca Laird
Date: July 21, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: The Sunflower     Author: Richard Paul Evans      ISBN: 0743287010

Synopsis: Paul Cook, a doctor, leaves the U.S. after difficult circumstances. He ends up in Peru, helping others. Christine, dumped by her fiancι the week before their wedding - heads off on a humanitarian mission. Their hearts connect at a Peruvian orphanage called El Giras-l - The Sunflower.
Review: Richard Paul Evans has written several best-selling novels of hope, such as The Christmas Box and The Walk. In this book, you will quickly fall in love with the main characters as they overcome the most painful challenges in their lives. The book is filled with life-changing quotes, and the story line grips you from the very first chapter. I was not disappointed!
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- This book is encouraging in a society where people need hope.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Christian Fiction

Title: The Sunroom    Author: Beverly Lewis     ISBN: 0764220764

Synopsis: Becky Owens, a 12 year old girl, sees her mom dying from cancer. She prays earnestly for her healing. As the reader you feel for Becky as she suffers along with her mom. A surprise ending!
Review: This was an excellent book. It inspires the reader to acknowledge God and his greatness in their lives.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this book? Yes- Anyone that needs to be encouraged would enjoy this book.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Sweet Home Alabama

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Sweet Home Alabama

Synopsis: Mel is a New York fashion designer who becomes engaged to a Bachelor, but in order to marry her fiancι, she has to go back to Alabama and get Jake, her husband, to sign the divorce papers. But Jake gives her a hard time. Mel's fiancι shows up and finds out that Mel lied about some things. Jake signs the papers, and Mel plans a wedding, but on the day of the wedding the lawyer tells Mel that she is still married to Jake, he signed but she didn't. Mel tells her fiancι that she can't marry him because she is still in love with Jake.
Review: I loved it! Totally! Very, very, very good.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 5
Would I recommend this movie? Yes- Outstanding. I loved it!

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Laurel Serafin
Date: July 26, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: Swimsuit      Author: James Patterson      ISBN: 9780316018777

Synopsis: This book was about a sadistic killer who preyed on innocent people and filmed them during his killing spree. He supposedly did it all for money, as people paid to see his horrible crimes. He was being pursued by a newspaper columnist who was then kidnapped by the killer and forced to write a book about the killer's exploits. The maniac murderer threatens him (the writer) and the writer's girlfriend with death if he doesn't do it.
Review: I usually like James Patterson, but while I liked the "plot" of the book, I found it way too graphic. I found myself skipping paragraphs to avoid reading the gory details. I think it could have been written with much less gore!
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): Plot-4  "Graphic" nature-0   Overall-3
Would I recommend this book? No- I would not want them to be bothered by the gross details.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Product Details

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: DVD

Title: Tango and Cash

Synopsis: Tango and Cash are cops from different sides of town. But they team up to go after a drug lord, and to get them out of the way set them up, and get them sent to prison. They break out of prison and go after the guy that put them there again and win.
Review: Very, very, very good. Funny. I loved it.
Overall rating of this movie (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this movie? Yes- very good, funny, nice toys! Very awesome.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

The Unseen

Reviewer: J. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: The Unseen   Author: Zilpha Keatley Snyder

Synopsis: Two young girls who are fascinated with magic come across a feather that is in fact a key to a fun but scary unseen world of wonder.
Review: The book says to me "The book is stuck in the magic that could be out there some where might already have been found we just need to look around."
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It makes you to have to read it over again to figure it out.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: The Wedding Game    Author: Jane Feather     ISBN: 0553586203

Synopsis: A woman and her sisters have a business of match-making. A man came to them looking for a wife, to help him in his business as a doctor. The sisters think they have found the man a wife but things go wrong. The youngest sister and the man fall in love, while the could-be-wife also finds love, in an unlikely place.
Review: It was good, slow in spots and funny in others. Very interesting.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It was interesting to read about different places and how different people live back in that time.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: S. B.
Date: August 9, 2010
Category: Fiction

Title: West of the Tularosa   Author: Louis L'Amour     ISBN: 9781602856721

Synopsis: This is about the old west and pioneering. Learning to survive.
Review: This story gives great insight to the way of the pioneer and the hardships they endured and the conniving outlaws they faced.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- nice reading for learning some of the old ways of doing things and surviving the harsh country.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Christian Fiction

Title: A Winding Path  Author: Carrie Bender  ISBN: 083613656X

Synopsis: Book 2 in a series. The story depicts more of Miriam's life now as a wife and mother in her forties.
Review: Miriam is a determined character and makes the most of her life by caring for her family and neighbors.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 4
Would I recommend this book? Yes- It's fun to read about Miriam and all that comes her way. As a reader, you want to know what will happen next.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

Cover

Reviewer: Laura Tatlow
Date: July 19, 2010
Category: Christian Fiction

Title: The Yada Yada Prayer Group Gets Rolling  Author: Neta Jackson  ISBN: 9781595544445

Synopsis: A group of ladies gather together to pray for and encourage one another through everyday life and their difficulties. They often see God answer prayer in unexpected ways.
Review: There is so much going on in this book. I kept reading to see the outcomes for each lady.
Overall rating of this book (scale of 0=awful to 5=outstanding): 3
Would I recommend this book? Yes- This is an inspirational book that reminds the reader that prayer works. It's a lengthy book that sometimes moves along slowly.

Available in local libraries – click here to search Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Library System holdings

 

2009 Summer Readers' Reviews